Creature Feature: Crane Fly

The first time I saw the crane fly was in my family’s garden box, in the backyard. It was about two weeks ago. It looked like a giant mosquito. It was morning and I saw it sitting on the carrots. I was really close to it before I noticed it was there. It wasn’t moving, but later in the day, I saw one on the screen door. The next day, I saw a few more of them. They were always in the garden box. Then, my sister realized that the crane flies were coming out of small worms that were in the garden. The shell from the worms were still in the garden box. The crane fly didn’t fly very far or live very long. It did not make a sound. I did not enjoy seeng this creature because I thought it was a big mosquito. It was interesting how it was a worm before but it was also creepy. My family had to use google to figure out what kind of bug it was. I am really happy it was not a giant mosquito!        

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *